This is my Master’s project.

Here is a great shot of the trusty notebook. I have a lot of trusty things.

Here is a great shot of the trusty notebook. I have a lot of trusty things.

Á la lolmythesis: “Reporters are doing a great job of perpetuating Islamophobia in the U.S. Here are some new tools for them so they can do their jobs better.”

For the next 15 days, I’ll be travelling on planes and buses and subways with my dad’s trusty Nikon and my school’s trusty tripod to interview a handful of scholars and reporters and bloggers about Islamophobia, its perpetuators and the work being done to fight it.

This work, plus more work I’ll do throughout the semester, will result in a website and smartphone app that tracks and visualizes data on Islamophobic incidents throughout the U.S., made for the use of reporters.

One of the things I love about j-school is that mostly everything we learn is practical. In this same tradition, we have Master’s “projects” instead of Master’s “theses,” which just means that you have real-world requirements of the projects as well as academic ones. Though this makes it a tad more stressful, it also makes it much more relevant.

Many people have asked me what I’m working on. (I’ve also been told it’s beneficial to one’s reporting and one’s sanity to keep a record of events and updates while travel reporting.) So I turn to my trusty blog. Over the next couple weeks, I’ll do my best to keep it updated with travel-related anecdotes and project updates. I’ll also be tweeting with #IFRtravel on project-related tweets.

About The Author

Nausheen Husain was about 12 when she first was like, “Whoa, dude” about Islamophobia. It was September 12, 2001 and the dumb kid who sat in front of her in Language Arts turned around and said, “Hey, are you a spy from Afghanistan?” Nausheen was like, “Give me my pen back, Mike,” but the experience stuck with her. She guesses it stuck with her longer than she realized before, because she can see it happening in her head right now and she still remembers the kid and what he looks like and he never gave her the pen back and sometimes when she thinks about him she grips whatever she is holding tightly until it shatters into a billion pieces, even if it’s just a piece of paper or a doughnut. She may need to see a therapist or something.

9 thoughts on “This is my Master’s project.

Leave a Reply

