I’m going to Germany today.

THIS DUDE'S NAME IS BAD REICHENHALL. (From the Flickr Commons)

THIS DUDE’S NAME IS BAD REICHENHALL. LOOK AT THAT HAT.
(From the Flickr Commons)

Each year, the German embassy sponsors the Young Journalists’ Program – they take a handful of American journalism students to Munich and Berlin to meet German journalists and visit media companies in the land of Bach and Oktoberfest. This year, I get to go.

Because grad school makes me cry once a week, I haven’t really had a chance to research Germany or its history and culture, so I decided to take a quick journey through that mirror of contemporary global zeitgeist, that arrow that strikes at the heart of the happenings of 2013, that communication device that will likely outlive the last man on Earth – Twitter.

Here’s what I got when I searched for “Germany.”

Good thing I’m going to Munich and Berlin.

https://twitter.com/fr_evil/status/396681217325928448

Oh, thanks, bro.

Covering this is literally my dream job.

I’ve had dreams about this.
Because beards.

Kendall Schmidt. Four for you, Kendall Schmidt. You go, Kendall Schmidt.

YES, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE PIZZA?

Oh dear, I’ve stumbled onto something here.

Don’t be deceived by the website here from 1992. This seems to be a real thing. Fascinating.

Follow me at @nausheenhusain, or #YJP13, for updates on the trip! Or just keep checking this blog. Or just go on living your life.

Leave a Reply

